

11 June 2013

Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road Stretford, M32 0TH

Dear Councillor,

Your attendance is requested at an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Trafford on WEDNESDAY, 19 JUNE 2013, at 7.00 P.M. in the COMMITTEE SUITE, TRAFFORD TOWN HALL, TALBOT ROAD, STRETFORD, for the transaction of the business set out below:

NOTE: THIS EXTRAORDINARY MEETING IS TO BE PRECEDED BY A PUBLIC MEETING COMMENCING AT 6.00 P.M.

All members of the Council are invited to attend the public meeting which is being held to provide local residents and interested parties the opportunity to comment on the item of business set out on this summons.

1. Motion Submitted by the Labour Group

The Council condemns the decision made by the Conservative Government Secretary of State in overruling this Council's unanimous decision to refuse planning permission for the development of a Biomass Incineration Plant in Davyhulme.

This Conservative Government decision flies in the face of the thousands of local people who have campaigned against and opposed this Incineration Plant. The decision runs contrary to the definition of "Localism" and belies any notion of local democracy and the strong wishes of our community.

In light of the above Trafford Council is right to appeal through the Courts the Secretary of States ruling, and pledges to continue the fight to overturn this appalling decision.

Note: During the consideration of this matter it may be necessary, on legal advice, to move a resolution:

"That the public be excluded from this meeting during consideration of this item because of the likelihood of disclosure of "exempt information" which falls within Paragraph 5 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended" - i.e. the disclosure of information in respect of which a claim to legal professional privilege could be maintained in legal proceedings, and the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information.

Yours sincerely,

Theresa Grand

THERESA GRANT
Chief Executive

Membership of the Council

Councillors D. Butt (Mayor), E.H. Malik (Deputy Mayor), D. Acton, S. Adshead, S. Anstee, Dr. K. Barclay, J. Baugh, J. Bennett, Miss L. Blackburn, R. Bowker, C. Boyes, Mrs. A. Bruer-Morris, J. Brophy, B Brotherton, D. Bunting, C. Candish, R Chilton, M. Colledge, Mrs. L. Cooke, M. Cordingley, M. Cornes, J. Coupe, Mrs. P. Dixon, A. Duffield, Mrs. L. Evans, T. Fishwick, M. Freeman, P. Gratrix, J. Harding, D. Higgins, J. Holden, M. Hyman, C. Hynes, D. Jarman, P. Lally, J. Lamb, J. Lloyd, A. Mitchell, P. Myers, D. O'Sullivan, I. Platt, K. Procter, D. Quayle, J.R. Reilly, Mrs. J. Reilly, B. Rigby, T. Ross, B. Sharp, B. Shaw, J. Smith, E.W. Stennett, N. Taylor, S. Taylor, L. Walsh, Mrs. V. Ward, A. Western, D. Western, K. Weston, M. Whetton, Mrs. J. Wilkinson, A. Williams, M. Young and Mrs. P. Young

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact:

Ian Cockill, Democratic Services Officer

Tel: 0161 912 1387

Email: ian.cockill@trafford.gov.uk

This Summons was issued on **Tuesday**, **11 June 2013** by the Legal and Democratic Services Section, Trafford Council, Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road, Stretford M32 0TH